API Support Forum
OEC API > API Support > .NET Remoting issue
Author Topic: .NET Remoting issue
(4 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: VPfau
JGronemus87
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 28, 2007


Posted: Oct 27, 2010 @ 03:42 PM             Msg. 1 of 4
Hello,

I have a Windows XP Pro machine that is having connection issues. The "Allow Remoting" Option is checked. I am trying to remote connect using a proprietary C# program. The version of OECTrader is 3.5.0.16.

On an identical machine using the same C# program, I am able to remote connect using OEC Trader 3.5.0.14.

Do you know of any issues with .NET Remoting in 3.5.0.16?

Thanks,
John

John
VictorV
Posts: 746
Joined: May 08, 2007


Posted: Oct 28, 2010 @ 02:50 PM             Msg. 2 of 4
Hello,

I couldn't reproduce it on my XP Pro with the same versions of Traders and with different OECAPI under custom application. Could you try to compile your application with API.DLL and CommLib.DLL from Trader that you are trying to connect?

Victor Vins
Software Developer
JGronemus87
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 28, 2007


Posted: Nov 02, 2010 @ 09:28 PM             Msg. 3 of 4
I will try that and report back to you.

John
JGronemus87
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 28, 2007


Posted: Nov 04, 2010 @ 03:26 PM             Msg. 4 of 4
I have more details...

Here is the code in the custom program that creates the OECClient instance.

OEC = OECClient.CreateInstance(true);

if (OEC.RemoteHostingEnabled)
{
MessageBox.Show("Connected to remote instance");
}
else
{
MessageBox.Show("Created Local Instance.");
}


With this a messagebox will be displayed everytime the program starts. In every case were the program starts and the message reads "Created Local Instance", it does not work. In every case were the message reads "Connected to remote instance", it works. This is as I would have expected.

We doubled checked the OEC Trader Platform to verify that "Allow Remoting" is checked and it is. We also were very careful to start the OEC Trader platform first, then start the OnLinkSample Program that is trying to remote in and it still does not work. It created a local instance with I would have expected it to connect to a remote instance.

Any other tips that you can provide? Is there something in the code that I'm missing? I am able to get it to work with 3.5.0.16 on my Win 7 64 machine. Our client is not able to get it to work on is XP Pro SP3 machine.

The program is compiled against 3.5.0.0 version of the API.DLL file.

Thanks,
John


Thanks,
John

John