API Support Forum
OEC API > API Support > Demo/sandbox account type
Author Topic: Demo/sandbox account type
(9 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: VPfau
MMedved86
Posts: 20
Joined: Sep 09, 2016


Posted: Sep 09, 2016 @ 11:22 PM             Msg. 1 of 9
Is there any way to switch my demo acct type to one that supports equities and equity options as well as futures/forex?
CMicciche902
Posts: 229
Joined:


Posted: Sep 12, 2016 @ 08:22 AM             Msg. 2 of 9
Equities and equity options are not supported. A forex account will be added to your Developer account, please 1-2 days for your request to be completed. Once added, you will have two account numbers associated with your username.
Chris M
MMedved86
Posts: 20
Joined: Sep 09, 2016


Posted: Sep 12, 2016 @ 11:04 AM             Msg. 3 of 9
Thanks - but when you say "equities and equity options are not supported" - do you mean in the demo/sandbox account or in general?

And another question - the EventBatchInterval - it is settable - but when I set it to 1000, the quotes still come in sometimes at 100ms intervals... And at login EventBatchInterval is 0. What is it with "real" accounts?
Edited by MMedved86 on Sep 12, 2016 11:09 AM
CMicciche902
Posts: 229
Joined:


Posted: Sep 12, 2016 @ 11:31 AM             Msg. 4 of 9
GAIN Capital offers futures and FX accounts, we do not offer equity accounts, live or demo. In regards to our market data subscriptions, we do not offer a way to throttle data, ie. managing number of updates per second. We provide real-time data as it is provided by the futures and FX data feeds.
Chris M
MMedved86
Posts: 20
Joined: Sep 09, 2016


Posted: Sep 12, 2016 @ 12:02 PM             Msg. 5 of 9
I am a bit confused on both points then:

1. Are you saying that the API doesn't support equities and equity options or that you (Gain Capital) don't. And if it's the second one, do any of the brokers that use your API support equities and equity options (basically I want to know whether to account for that in my code, since it will work with any broker that uses your API, not just Gain)

2. EventBatchInterval - there are discussions of it like this: https://apisupport.gainfutures.com/Topic/Index/391 and this: https://apisupport.gainfutures.com/Topic/Index/601 - is this not relevant anymore? Is there no throttling and the EventBatchInterval is obsolete?
CMicciche902
Posts: 229
Joined:


Posted: Sep 12, 2016 @ 12:32 PM             Msg. 6 of 9
For item #1, the API no longer supports equities since GAIN Capital does not offer this account type.

For item #2, I'll have a Developer review and confirm.
Chris M
NShine
Posts: 36
Joined:


Posted: Sep 12, 2016 @ 03:02 PM             Msg. 7 of 9
Is there no throttling and the EventBatchInterval is obsolete?

This functionality is currently disabled, so there is no throttling at this time. We will discuss tomorrow if it should be enabled going forward.
Edited by NShine on Sep 12, 2016 03:03 PM
NShine
Posts: 36
Joined:


Posted: Sep 13, 2016 @ 10:22 AM             Msg. 8 of 9
We have decided to enable this functionality, though the term "throttling" might be a little misleading. The same amount of updates will be sent through the API, but there will be an interval so that the quotes will accumulate before events are fired. Also, please be aware that these changes have to pass various testing environments before they are available on our demo/production servers. Thank you.
CMicciche902
Posts: 229
Joined:


Posted: Sep 13, 2016 @ 11:02 AM             Msg. 9 of 9
A forex account has been added to your Developer. In conclusion, you will have access to Futures and FX data and order capabilities.
Chris M