API Support Forum
OEC API > API Support > custom indicator issue...big memory usage
Author Topic: custom indicator issue...big memory usage
(3 messages, Page 1 of 1)
Moderators: VPfau
JCarey1693
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 27, 2015


Posted: Feb 28, 2018 @ 12:12 PM             Msg. 1 of 3
Our custom indicators, which use a compiled DLL, seem to make the OEC trader exe use a ton of RAM when the user has a bunch of charts in the workspace, and when the user lets trader app stay open and ticking for hours and hours, etc. Perhaps its a configuration file in OEC thats getting too large. Im not sure.

Any ideas?
John Carey
CMicciche902
Posts: 230
Joined:


Posted: Feb 28, 2018 @ 04:21 PM             Msg. 2 of 3
John,
We'll need more information on how RAM is accumulating so high. According to Developers "Indicators are not limited in memory usage." When I open up your indicators with many charts, I do not have such issue. Can you email us the workspace file that produces this effect? Go to File > Workspaces > Save As and email me the file.
Chris M
JCarey1693
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 27, 2015


Posted: Mar 01, 2018 @ 04:21 AM             Msg. 3 of 3
Chris, thanks for your reply. We have a client, a bit of a power user...he's having the issue, particularly when he lets the exe run live with ticks coming in. He did say changing symbols/intervals can make it worse as well. His workspace has been emailed directly to you. I also have a screenshot of trader.exe's RAM usage on his machine, that he sent in, if you need to see it -- it was approaching 5GB. I appreciate any tips you can give. This is a complaint that is new to us.
John Carey